Public housing

Public housing safety

Everyone has the right to feel safe at home.

To help provide a safer place for public housing tenants and their neighbours, a Public Housing Safety Strategy has been implemented.

The Public Housing Safety Strategy is made up of four key elements that contribute to a safer community for all Territorians.

  • A Public Housing Safety Unit that coordinates the strategy, and manages complex antisocial behaviour issues.
  • A Three Strike policy that categorises the nature and severity of antisocial behaviour, with the third and final warning potentially resulting in eviction proceedings.
  • A Memorandum of Understanding between the Department of Housing and the NT Police that ensures a strong, coordinated approach to addressing antisocial behaviour, in and around public housing properties.
  • Public Housing Safety Officers with legislated powers who address antisocial behaviour in and around public housing properties.